Visits Home

We didn’t go to my mother’s on Sunday’s we went to my Uncle C and Aunt P’s house, (the same uncle who found it necessary to provide my mother with 3 more children after my father’s death). There were other uncles who came to the house on Sundays, they drank and were loud and scary and smelly. I didn’t like the way they touched me or the fact that they wanted to kiss me on the lips all the time. My Aunt P was not happy about us being there either (looking back I don’t blame her).  She had been betrayed. I couldn’t wait to leave and get back to the Center. When it was time to leave all the girls rushed to the car to be the ones who got to sit in the front seat. I learned that day that from then on I too would run to get that front seat because I never wanted to sit in the back seat of that car ever again. Sundays became dreadful. I hated going on visitations. I tried to tell people but no one would listen to me. In fact, the caseworker told us that we were going to start to get “extended” visitations with my mother.  That meant we would be staying the whole weekend. I thought I was going to die. By now I was about 7 1/2 years old.

On the first weekend we stayed at my mother’s house there were not enough beds for everyone to have their own and so we had to share, I didn’t like it. My grandmother (my mother’s mother) didn’t like me and I didn’t like her. Her house was filled with cats and nothing was clean, not at my grandmother’s nor mother’s house. Everything was filthy and there were roaches everywhere. They were in the walls! I was so frightened, it is one of the first times I remember praying. On the way back to the Center, I got stuck in the back seat, I cried all the way.

I would like to say that as I share this episode in my life I am reminded how God has led. Even though this experience happened I have learned that God does not leave us in the difficult situations of our lives. I know that He was with me through every experience and that it is by His grace and mercy that I have a relationship with Jesus, despite the enemy’s attempts to prevent it. God bless.

About He Gave Me Hope

I want to share my life story with others so they can see how God can change a life.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Overcoming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visits Home

  1. Thanks for the uplifting words. I would love it if you would share a story of how prayer has worked in your life in my law of attraction blog (www.storiesandtruth.com). Credit and link given, of course! I’ll check your blog for a reply.

    • Hi Mollie,
      So sorry that I have not replied sooner – I was away for a few days. I would love to share with you and other bloggers a special answer to prayer. Three years ago I was very sick and attended a wellness center in Hermosa, South Dakota. While I was there I was praying for my eldest son (he is 34 now). I was really pleading with the Lord to save him. When I had completed my prayer, there was a Bible in the drawer of the room I was staying in. In that Bible was a piece of paper with the following scripture reference written on it: Jeremiah 31:16, 17. So, I looked it up and here is what the Lord said to me. “Thus saith the Lord; Refrain thy voice from weeping, and thine eyes from tears: for thy work shall be rewarded, saith the Lord: and they shall come again from the land of the enemy. And there is hope in thine end, saith the Lord, that thy children shall come again to their own border.” I began to claim that promise for my son in July of 2009. The following June (2010) my son gave his heart to the Lord and was baptized that August. He now works as a Bible Worker in Michigan. I praise God that He has answered the prayer for salvation not only for my eldest son but I have two other children that God has also reached for the Kingdom. To parents out there with a wayward child, do not cease to pray, for God hears you, and he is working to bring your child to a saving knowledge of Him. God bless you all! Patricia

Leave a Reply

