Taking a Stand

Well, if you remember Mr. R, one of my most favorite people in the entire world passed away and so his wife could no longer stay on as a cottage parent, and that is why Mr. and Mrs. P showed up.

They were mean and wicked people. She was a terrible cook and he was just plain evil. I did my best to stay clear of him. Other girls were not so lucky. When we’d go to the movies on Saturdays all the girls tried real hard not to have to sit next him.

I woke up one night to strange noises in my bedroom. When I rolled over to see what they were, I discovered Mr. P in the room. I pulled the covers over my head and pretended to be asleep. My heart was racing, I prayed to God for Mr. P to leave. He didn’t.

In the morning I was worried, I didn’t know what to do. I decided I would tell my caseworker what had happened; maybe she could get rid of Mr. and Mrs. P, or something. So when the school bus stopped at the Administration Building I snuck off the bus and waited in the bathroom, till my caseworker arrived and I told her the whole story. I was relieved and happy with the thought that something was going to be done about the situation. However, when I got in from school the cottage was filled with an eerie silence. I put my coat and books away and walked around the corner of the hallway only to discover that all the girls were lined up with their faces staring at the wall and their index fingers and middle fingers pressed against the space between the cinder blocks and their knees bent in a stoop. Mrs. P was there with a belt and she was flaming mad. She yelled at me to take the position and informed me that we all would stand there without dinner till the “one” confessed that they had told an awful lie about her husband. I could not believe what I was hearing. My caseworker had betrayed me! I was mad! I felt bad for the other girls but there was no way I was going to own up to what I had done. We stood there for hours, (if anyone cried or fell over they were whipped); finally we were allowed to go to bed. When I stood up my legs shook and my shoulders ached, it was difficult to walk. I decided that night I would do whatever it took to get out of there. I thought about running away but I had no place to run to. Then, I had an idea . . .

As you read the events of my life story I so want you to keep in mind that even though I experienced some pretty awful things, God was with me through it all. According to Matthew 25, at the end of time many people will come to Jesus not knowing that the good they did for others during their lifetime was like doing good to Jesus. It makes sense to my mind that if people do good and it’s counted as doing good to Jesus, then when people do bad to others it is as if they have done it to the Lord. My Heavenly Father is aware of my suffering and yours and offers us relief by trusting that He can make something beautiful out of our ugly life experiences. Take courage my friends you’re not alone.

About He Gave Me Hope

I want to share my life story with others so they can see how God can change a life.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, Overcoming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

