Be of Good Cheer!

Hi, I can’t believe another week has gone by, thanks for continuing to follow the blog.

On Sunday afternoons prospective foster parents would come and visit the Center. This provided an opportunity for them to meet some of the kids that were up for adoption or foster care, to see if there was a possible “fit”. They would dress us all up and tell us to be on our best behavior and maybe we would get “new parents”. I hated being put on display like that, so I was pretty belligerent. I figured that if I acted that way no one would ever choose me. Besides, my experience with foster homes had not been a positive one.

However the following Sunday after reporting Mr P., I was a different little girl. I put on my best dress and grabbed my collection of “Barbie Dolls”. I watched as the “guests” filed in looking at each one as they walked by and then I spotted them. They were older and they had a little girl with them that I figured was about my age, I think I was about 10 years old by then. I put on my sweetest smile and walked over to the little girl and asked if she would like to play “Barbies” with me.  Her name was S and she liked me right off the bat and in a few weeks I went on a Sunday outing with them. They had a beautiful house in the country. The dad and mom were L and T. There was an older brother who was like 10 years older than S. He was married and had a little boy. He made feel uneasy.

We had a few more Sunday outings and then I spent a couple of weekends with them and finally when the school year was over I went to live with them for the summer. It was great; I had a room of my own filled with lots of pretty girl things. There were new clothes and shoes just everything you could imagine. We would go out to dinner, movies, and shopping. I did notice that they bought extra things for S but I didn’t care, I had more things now than I had ever had in my whole life. We’d go camping almost every weekend; there would be hayrides, bonfires, and square dancing. I was even able to earn a little money by washing work gloves for a local company. I could not remember the last time I had been so happy, but as my life proved to always be, it wasn’t going to last very long.

I would like to encourage those who are following my blog to hold the words of Paul in Romans 8:37-39 close to their hearts and minds. “Nay, in all things we are more than conquerors through Him that loved us. For I am persuaded that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” We do have an enemy, who seeks to destroy us, but He is a defeated foe and one day very soon, Jesus will return and bring an end to the sorrow and suffering of this world. Remember the words of Christ. “In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world” John 16:33

Courage my friends!

About He Gave Me Hope

I want to share my life story with others so they can see how God can change a life.
This entry was posted in Bible Promises, Christianity, Faith, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Overcoming and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

