No Escape

Life was good with Larry and Tina; they treated me kindly and made feel welcome in their home. Sally and I got along well, just like we were sisters.  Things worked out so well that when the summer was over I was invited to stay and become a permanent addition to the family. School was about to start and I was so excited. Tina took Sally and I out shopping for school clothes. We got our hair done at the beauty shop; they did something called a body perm to me so my hair would hold a curl. I couldn’t remember the last time getting ready for school was so much fun.

David and his wife (for some reason I cannot remember her name so I’ll just call her Wendy) and their little boy Bobby were not around very much. They would come to family get-togethers and holiday celebrations. If David and Wendy needed a sitter, they would usually ask Sally do it. I didn’t care that I wasn’t asked to babysit, because I didn’t want to be around David. However, one day Wendy needed to get her hair done, and she asked me to babysit. I was kind of excited because I really like little Bobby and the times that we were together I enjoyed playing with him. I was assured I would only babysit for about an hour and half, so I said okay. David was at work and wasn’t expected to be home before Wendy would return.  The little one was asleep so I sat down to watch TV. Just then a car pulled into the driveway. It was David! I tried to be happy to see him but I wasn’t. I nervously explained that Wendy was getting her hair done and she would be right back.

He went in and took a shower. I prayed for the baby to wake up, but he didn’t.  I went into the kitchen to get something to drink. David showed up and then it was a game of cat and mouse. I tried to leave the kitchen but was prevented. He began to say the usual things that take control of the mind of a child and cause them to surrender their will. I knew what was about to take place and so, as I had done so many times before, I escaped into another world in which reality didn’t exist.

I got the usual “You better not tell anyone. Besides no one is going to believe you!” “You’ll have to go back to the orphanage”, and so on and so on. I believed him, because he was right. After all, look what happened with my uncles, Mr. Phillips, and my caseworker. Yes, he was right! I was trapped and there was nothing I could do about it.

I was 11 years old.

If you have found this entry to be disturbing, please let me again remind you that God was with me through all my experiences and it is by His grace that I have survived. In the parable of the wheat and tares, Jesus is asked where the weeds came from and He responded with, “An enemy hath done this”. We have an enemy who seeks to destroy, but we also have a Heavenly Father who is the Master Restorer. God has given everyone the gift of “free will”. It was given to benefit others, but sin has perverted the gift and it is now used to cause suffering and sorrow. When we give our lives to Jesus, the Holy Spirit begins the process of restoration. Think about the words of Jesus in John 10:10, “The thief cometh not, but to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”

Blessings my friends

About He Gave Me Hope

I want to share my life story with others so they can see how God can change a life.
This entry was posted in Bible Promises, Christianity, Faith, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Overcoming and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Escape

  1. Barbara Savage says:

    It’s so sad the things that happen to children that haven’t anyone to protect them. It’s hard to grasp how adults can do just awfil things to them. Shows the control the enemy has over them. It’s truly a miracle of God that those with such difficult beginnings can be healed of such injuries and go on to live productive, happy lives!

Leave a Reply

