A Precious Gift

At Robert and Jane’s house I had my own bedroom with a private bath upstairs. There were two little boys Mikie who was a little over 2 years of age and Kyle who was about 6 months old. Kyle was so cute I enjoyed playing with him. Robert was a big man who didn’t say much but I was impressed with the thought that when he did speak, you better move! It was a pleasant, rather quiet home. I pretty much stayed to myself for a while. I was thankful no one bothered me. I liked to watch Jane take care of her children. She nursed Kyle, which was something new to me. She would rock him and sing songs until he fell asleep. She would spend time reading books to Mikie. He was a smart little kid.  I didn’t know it then, but the way she nurtured her children would be a guide to me in years to come.

Days turned into weeks and weeks to months. It was getting pretty obvious that I was pregnant and reality had to settle in. Jane was there every step of the way. She was my Lamaze coach. She had her babies naturally; she said I could do it too, but if it got too much, there was medicine I could be given. She made me want to be strong. There was something about her that was really special. I still carry very fond memories of her.

The day finally arrived, and I went to Jane and said, “I think something is happening”. She was calm and reassuring. A neighbor came to be with the boys, and we left for the hospital. I must admit I was afraid, but Jane’s gentleness and patience were a source of strength.  The nursing staff was also extremely attentive. I can only assume it was because of my age and my circumstances. I had just turned 14 in February. I was able to forego the saddle block with Jane’s help and encouragement. I gave birth to a little girl. I was not allowed to have any contact with her. She went to the nursery and I went to a private room. The next day curiosity overcame me; and I had to see her. I walked to the nursery during feeding time, and there off to the corner was one small bassinet. I cupped my hands against the window in hopes that I could see better. The nurse present in the nursery, had to have known who I was and that I was not to see the baby. But she pushed the bassinet to the window and unwrapped the blankets and revealed the most beautiful thing I had ever seen!

“Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning” James 1:17. I have experienced the truth of this passage over and over again in my life. I pray you find the gift of your life in Christ Jesus.

About He Gave Me Hope

I want to share my life story with others so they can see how God can change a life.
This entry was posted in Adoption, Bibil Promises, Bible Promises, Christianity, Faith, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Overcoming, Unwed mother. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

