“Picked Out Special”

I have never regretted the decision I made some 41 years ago to give my precious baby girl a chance at a real life. I, of course, wondered about her from time to time; “How had things turned out for her? Was she happy? Had the adoptive parents fulfilled the desires of my heart? And ultimately, did she know Jesus as her personal Savior?”

Seven years later I would have an encounter that would bring peace and assurance to my heart whenever I would wonder if she was “okay”.

One summer afternoon I had taken my baby boy on a swimming outing with some girlfriends and their babies to a local pool. There wasn’t much shade or privacy, so I took him into the bathhouse to nurse him. I noticed two little girls watching me. As they approached I was a bit concerned as to what they were going to ask and what was I to say. They looked to be about seven years old. The bravest of the two, a brown-eyed little sprite, walked right up to me and said, “Did you have that baby or pick it out special?” I was surprised, “I had this baby”, was my reply. Bold and proud, she responded, “I was picked out special!” Time froze for a moment as our eyes met. I looked into those beautiful brown eyes and the thought flooded my mind, “Could this be her?” She was the right age. Her eyes, her hair color, the playful impish smile that lighted across her face, all revealed a possible resemblance, “Could this be her?” She looked at the baby for a bit and then she was off and on her way.

What an awesome way to have your existence validated. “Picked out special”! I was filled with such a sense of happiness and joy that this was her experience. I took it as an assurance from God, that my prayers had been answered, and I didn’t have to worry about her anymore. My little girl was loved and “picked out special”. I could not have asked for a greater confirmation of my hopes and dreams for her.

Just a few years ago when I was praying for my eldest son to give his heart to the Lord, I had another incredible assurance from God that He was continuing to take care of my special child.  In the course of praying to God for help I became emotional and was crying and pleading with God on my son’s behalf. In answer to my request the Holy Spirit give me Jeremiah 31:16, 17: “Thus saith, the Lord; Refrain thy voice from weeping, and thine eyes from tears: for thy work shall be rewarded, saith the Lord: and they shall come again from the land of the enemy. And there is hope in thine end, saith the Lord, that thy children shall come again to their own border.” WOW! I was rejoicing and praising God for His mercy toward me when I thought of her. “Lord, what about her?” The Holy Spirit gave me Isaiah 54:13: “And all thy children shall be taught of the Lord: and great shall be the peace of thy children.” Thank you! Thank you, Father! “How excellent is thy lovingkindness, O God! Therefore the children of men put their trust under the shadow of thy wings” Psalm 36:7.

I pray, that whatever your situation may be that you trust Him today. Blessings.

About He Gave Me Hope

I want to share my life story with others so they can see how God can change a life.
This entry was posted in Abortion, Abuse, Adoption, Bible Promises, Christianity, Faith, God, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Overcoming, Unwed mother and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Picked Out Special”

  1. jhschnorf says:

    Interesting perspective, I like it! I was in foster homes as a child and adopted at age 9. I was always told “You are special because you were chosen.”

  2. Pingback: Our Hope is in You, Lord « God Speaking

Leave a Reply

